Austin and Mac are now 4! (last sunday, I mean..)
2005-04-17 - 2:38 p.m.

Oy, second entry so close to the first??

I break the rules!! Look at my badass, multi entry self!

I forgot to mention how the party went. I mentioned earlier about a birthday party for Bobbie's kids!
Well despite my original analogy, she acted more like a badger in a snake's nest than a big, scary lion.

The Party was held at Chuck E. Cheese's, and we were treated to the musical stylings of giant, 9 foot critters who played the banjo and keyboard! Austin, (Bobbie's first born son, now 4 years old), seemed much more interested in sticking his entire face in the cake that they bought for him. That cake probably cost about 20 bucks too...

I was horrified at such a display, but everyone else seemed to think it was funny.

Kids. Hmph.

Mackenzie, (Bryan's first born daughter) was extremely talkitive and received many things that were pink.

I sat on the sidelines, most of the time, feeling very awkward. Used to be a time when I knew, generally, how to babysit and be around kids. But since me and Bobbie have been so distant lately, my relationship with her kids has suffered also.

I was at a complete loss.

Bobbie, on the other hand, was in full Stressed Out Mother mode; she fretted and worried and ran around the whole time.

After the 90 minutes that she had booked for 140 some odd dollars were up, and the presents were quickly packed away in cars, she sat down finally. She had a tired, shocked look on her face, as if someone had just slapped her.

I said,
"That was really fun! I thought that was a very well organized party!"

Which it was.

She glanced up, gave a little smirk and a scoff,
"Yeah.. okay."

I don't think, for all the trouble she went through, she had any fun at all.
And what's the point of having such an extravagent birthday party, if the parents feel used and abused at the end of it?

Maybe it's just because I don't have kids of my own. When I do though,

I vow never to pay nearly 200 dollars for a 90 minute time slot at an overpriced theme restaurant.


prev / next