as the Pope laments my hedonism
2005-03-27 - 7:50 a.m.

Happy Easter to all who haven't found themselves covered in blood come the light of dawn!
To everyone out there WITH the Curse of The Woman on this fine Easter sunday, my heart bleeds with you.
Ah, at least chocolate bunnies stand ready to soothe my pain...

Today I woke up early, proceeded to deep clean all my sheets and the clothes i was sleeping in, cry, and then remember we were supposed to go to Easter Mass today at 9:00. Not that I have any particular desire to wake up this early on a sunday and drive to a stuffy church to go through the motions of a religion I really don't believe in, but I promised Russ we could.

Back in the 70's, when Russ was a kid, he had the Fear of Jesus drilled into him with a little side of Mother Mary for good measure. He now insists that we have a catholic wedding, in a church, on a sunday, and that means I have to convert to be able to go through with it.
I don't really mind either way, whether we have a church wedding or not. I don't mind converting to catholisism to be able to do it.

But I never promised Russ I'd be a good catholic.

He says there are only three rules of the cah-thow-licks that he wants me to follow:
1. No meat on Good Friday
2. Church on Easter
3. Church on Christmas
(This is, you understand, more religious dogma than I've had to follow since I was 13, right before I started dabbling in Wicca.)

I don't know what it is that made me fall from the grace of the lord....
Might have been that I got enough guilt trips from my mother.
Maybe that rubbed off on me. Maybe, as a kind of rebellion, I started into witchcraft and eastern religions as a way to "guilt trip" god for all the...
all the....
all the what? It's really pointless to lash out at the head of any formalized religion, you know, since it's really the men on earth that call all the shots....
Sure, there might be a "devine design" of some sort, but who ultimately has the free will to figure out how to live our lives?
Who makes all the religious rules and dogma, who enforces what time church starts and ends, and what is appropriate to wear....

And who is the highest religious figure on Earth?

The Pope.

Well, in that case...

I was trying to send a good dose of mental guilt to John Paulie. I wonder if he felt poignantly guilty during the years of 1996 through 2001...

prev / next