fuzzy navels and low fat cheese
2005-03-31 - 9:01 a.m.

2 oz low fat mayo

1 leaf of lettuce

1 slice of tomato

2 slices whole wheat, low carb, low fat bread

I slice of 2 percent low fat cheese

^ My mother's lunch today

Recently I found out my Mother is diabetic. I immediately asked her if she used needles, and she assured me she did not. She does have to prick her finger and take a blood sample three times a day though.
Turns out her cells are not insulin drained, they are just insulin "deficient"... Which I suppose means that she makes insulin just fine but her cells won't accept it??
She showed me her little meter, and went through the motions of drawing blood from her finger like she'd been doing it all her life.. The awkwardness made me squirm, and I had the sudden urge to chow down a sandwich for comfort.
That's a disturbing image, watching your mother work her blood like a back alley professional, and then calmly offer to make cookies for everyone.

Well. To get off that subject.

That pitiful excuse for a sandwich up there is also what my lunch would look like if I went through with this stomach surgery. I've been talking about it since 2003, but haven�t done anything till now.
I've taken the first, dreaded step, and am petitioning the Insurance Gods to allow my big butt to be put on the operating table.
If they deem me worthy, (after I go through whatever classes or red tape they say are required), I'll wait another year or so on a waiting list before the actual cutting can be done.
This will be a total transformation and, like the saying goes, you can't transform without a cocoon..

Wait.. It didn't go like that... Was it "you can't transform without a jacket?"..

Well it'll be painful, I know that. Not only will I have to endure a fasting period before the surgery to clean out my stomach, a two week liquid diet will follow! LIQUID DIET??!!

And no, fuzzy navels will not count as approved "liquids".

Despite all the misgivings I have about such an extreme procedure, I'm excited!

I await the Gods decision with baited breath.


prev / next