on occassion...
2005-04-05 - 7:08 a.m.

"It's getting worse," I said to the cashier at the Tabacco Factory. He looked up from his lunch, bleary eyed and nodded with a grin.
I don't think he quite yet grasped what I was trying to tell him.
"I'm coming here more often all the time the past month. Haven't you noticed?" The grin fades a little. He seems really only mildly interested in what I have to say.

"Well.." he drawls, "I seen ya here round saturday last week... not sunday, it was saturday. And today's tuesdee... That would be about three days 'tween then and nah.."

Three days. Three days for one pack.

We talked about the weather and how it might stay nice and then I left.
I find I've been making more and more of these "on occasion" friends; at work, in school...
I'm opening up to others more in how I talk and how I present myself, but I find I really don't want to have a lasting relationship with any of them, so I only talk to them "on occassion". We'll meet up during a work break or outside of class and talk about little things; what our boyfriends are doing, our little addictions, our little dramas. And then we'll part and I wont think about them for the rest of the day.
I've made so many new friends since I started college again, and I've been opening myself up to so many people at work...

But I couldn't tell you half of their names.

You know I think those are some of the best friends you can have.

The tabacco factory was my last stop today before coming home after ditching school.
On the way home from my second class ,(and gratefully *away* from my third), I got the idea in my head to go driving a bit.

I didn't really feel like going home. I was in a sort of strange limbo where I neither wanted to sit in school nor go home. So I decided to go and get myself good and lost.

And lost I got myself. I drove for an hour and some odd minutes before I started aching to get home to familiar territory.
I was good and happy about it when I got home.

prev / next