an entry about the baby; holy crap!
2008-08-08 - 1:34 p.m.

Apparently the baby is contracting.

Or, that is, I'M contracting.

Or, that is to say, the baby's head is pushing against my cervix and making it dialate.

That can go on for weeks, from what I hear. It didn't hurt too badly; I woke up at 6 this morning with stabbing pains all over the area of my stomach. Which was weird, because I'd never had pains all over before. I figured it was just gas. They went away in about an hour. I told Bobbie jo that and she squealed and said, "It was probably contractions!"

Oh boy. That made me think of how fast this whole thing can sneak up on me. I could just wake up one morning and have to go to the hospital.
This baby can't come early, I have things to do. It isn't due for another 4 weeks; september 2.

Bobbie chose out a crib she wants to get the baby. Well actually two cribs. Well, really three cribs.
There's one for if it's a boy, one for if it's a girl, and then one she says she wants to get "before the baby is a toddler", that converts to two different sizes of childrens beds.
I like the idea of the converting one better, but as long as we get that in the future the girl/boy design ones can't hurt. The little boys one even comes with a star painted on the side, which would go with the tentative "theme" we have picked out of "moons and stars".
This theme all started with a cute bed set we found and it's expanded from there.
Part of me is worried that the baby's room is going to look horrible, but the other half doesn't really care. I mean the whole idea of dressing up the nursery is really for the parents own benefit, not the baby's. The infant doesn't know the difference between cowboys and cinderella, why should I worry?

I feel weird talking to Bobbie about the baby, because of what happened recently. I feel like I shouldn't talk about it, you know? But usually she's the one that brings it up. She's so excited! Sometimes more than I am, and I'm the mom... I'm really glad she's there for me, but at times I still feel a little weird...
I don't know, I think too much.
I worry about her too much really.


prev / next